Fire Marshals

Dan Mulligan
Division Commander

The Fire Marshal Division is responsible for the local fire code enforcement for 12 Ocean County municipalities: Barnegat Light, Beach Haven, Bay Head, Harvey Cedars, Lakewood, Long Beach Township, Plumsted Township, Point Pleasant Borough, Seaside Park, Ship Bottom, South Toms River and Surf City. Duties in these municipalities include fire inspections of commercial establishments, enforcement of the state Fire Code and investigation of fires. In addition to these municipalities, the Fire Marshal's Office is responsible for inspecting all County-owned buildings, regardless of their location.

The Fire Marshal's Office also responds to fire scenes in every municipality, except Brick and Dover Townships, to investigate fires as to cause and origin and also works with the Prosecutor's Office.

The Fire Marshal's Office operated a "Kid's Fire Safety House" which is a trailer designed to teach children how to escape from smoke-filled rooms and how to spot potential fire hazards. This program reaches over 12,000 children annually at schools, the county Fair, and other public places. The Office also reaches out to schools during Fire Safety Week in October of each year with a fire safety program.

Sheriff William L. Polhemus | Undersheriff Wayne R. Rupert | Chief Jeff P. Thompson Sr.
120 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753 | (732) 929-2044 | 24 Hour Emergency: (732) 349-2010
Ocean County Government Home Page