Ocean County Press Release
11 New Sheriff's Department Officers in Class

LAKEWOOD – The Ocean County Police Academy 89th Basic Police Recruit Class marked the completion of their initial training during graduation ceremonies today at Georgian Court University, here.

For almost 24 weeks, beginning Aug. 16, 33 police recruits from across Ocean County were put through their paces in academics, physical fitness and marksmanship.

"These men and women have given it their all to become law enforcement officers," said Freeholder John P. Kelly, who serves as Director of Law and Public Safety. "My colleagues on the Board of Freeholders and I extend our congratulations to each new officer and wish them well as they join the ranks of their respective departments."

Eleven of the graduates will join the ranks of the Ocean County Sheriff's Department.

"We are very proud of these new sheriff's officers," said Sheriff William L. Polhemus, who oversees the Police Academy. "We know they have been trained well and are confident they will wisely use the tools they have been provided during their time at the academy."

The keynote speaker at today's ceremony was Ocean County Prosecutor Marlene Lynch Ford.

Police Recruit Brian D. Stockhoff, Ocean County Sheriff's Department, was the recipient of the James J. Tracey Leadership Award presented by the Ocean County Emerald Society and Police Recruit Russell Griffin, Stafford Township Police Department, received the George Haines Award presented by the 200 Club.

Receiving Class Awards were Peter L. Aakjer Jr., Lakewood Police Department, High Academic, and Russell Griffin, Stafford Township Police Department, received the class awards for High Overall, High Physical Fitness, High Marksmanship and Distinguished Expert Perfect Score.

Also, receiving the Distinguished Expert Perfect Score were Ronald C. Bayer, Toms River Township Police Department, Matthew S. Horton, Ocean County Sheriff's Department, Edward L. Kunder, Stafford Township Police Department and Joshua D. Peterson, Little Egg Harbor Township Police Department.

The graduates and their respective police departments are: Peter L. Aakjer Jr., John V. Macerino, Michael P. Mooney Jr., Matthew Rivera, Joseph M. Sandstrom, Joshua J. Spagnuolo and Michael A. Young, all Lakewood Police Department; Clark G. Baranyay, and Warren P. Black, both Berkeley Township Police Department; Ronald C. Bayer, Daniel R. Herr, both Toms River Police Department.

Also, James J. Brown, Peter E. Glass, Michael R. Goelz, Matthew S. Horton, Germain J. Kirton, Daniel J. Molyneux, Daniel C. Murphy, Anthony J. Pereira, Erik R. Sain, Michael T. Senger, Brian D. Stockhoff, all Ocean County Sheriff's Department; Toni Carbone, Tuckerton Police Department; Andrew Casole, Seaside Park Police Department, and Brian W. Flynn and Charles S. May Jr., both Lacey Township Police Department.

John M. Gannaio, Brick Township Police Department; Russell Griffin and Edward L. Kunder, Stafford Township Police Department; Matthew M. Kline, Joshua D. Peterson, Little Egg Harbor Township Police Department; Stephine J. Ravaioli, Jackson Township Police Department, and Andrew Wahlberg, Beach Haven Police Department.

 Top of page
 Back to Press Release List Page
 Back to Ocean County Home Page
Subscribe to Ocean County Email Updates